Skip to main content

How to change user permissions

This article will go over how to change a user's permission to a manager, admin or both

Written by Marisa Crowder

To change a user's permissions, you must already be a Nectar admin.

  • Go to the People section and click on the profile of the person you want to update.

  • Scroll down to the field titled Workspace Permissions

If you don't see all these permissions options you may not have access to some of them.

  • There are six permission options

    • Engage Admin: Gives the user access to all Engage settings. You only want people who should be editing the settings inside your Nectar account to have this permission.

    • Comms Admin: Gives the user access to all Comms settings. You only want people who should be editing the settings inside your Nectar account to have this permission. This checkbox stays in sync with the Comms Admin role in Roles & Permissions, and Super Admins get Comms Admin access automatically. To give someone partial Comms access (for example, the ability to create comms without sending them), use Workspace Settings > Roles & Permissions instead. See What is Roles & Permissions and how do I create custom roles? for the full permission list.

    • Super Admin: Gives the user full access, including all Recognition settings. You only want people who should be editing the settings inside your Nectar account to have this permission.

    • Manager: Identifies a user as a manager to receive the associated monthly manager point allowance.

    • Analytics Access: Allows a user to have access to the Analytics reports without having Admin permissions. This can be used for upper management or financial departments that may need access to this information.

    • Group Sending: Is to allow users to give shoutouts in larger groups like departments. Click HERE for more information on this feature.

Note: Flows access isn't a checkbox on the profile. It's managed through Workspace Settings > Roles & Permissions using the Flows Admin, Create & Edit Flows, and Activate Flows permissions.

  • Once you select the permission you want the user to have, scroll down and click Save Employee.

Check out this quick video on how to change user permissions.

Did this answer your question?